Please visit for a live link to the Offices Closed & Events Postponed/Cancelled in Perquimans County document. 

Boards, Commissions, Committees

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option


Interested in local issues? Apply to be a member of an advisory board, committee, or commission.

If you are interested in serving on one of the Town’s volunteer boards or committees, you must complete and submit an application form. It is important to note that some committees or boards may not have vacancies at this time and some require specific qualifications for positions. You must be at least 18 years old to apply. 

Please pick up your application inside the Town Hall, or download printable version here.

Return this application in person or by mail/email/fax to:

Town Clerk
Town of Hertford
114 West Grubb Street
Hertford, NC 27944
Fax: (252)426-7060

ABC Board

The Town Council appoints three members for a three-year term.

Micheal Hare, Chairman (Term expires 8/2020)
3028 Kelly's Beach Road
Tyner, NC 27980

Joseph Hoffler (Term expires 8/2020)
1985 Centerhill Hwy.
Hertford, NC 27944

Todd Tilley (Term expires 10/2022)
1287 Center Hill Hwy.
Hertford, NC 27944

Economic Development Commission (EDC)

The Town Council appoints two members for a two-year term. One member is a Commissioner and the other can be a citizen-at-large. The EDC meets on the 4th Wednesday of each month in the County Commissioner’s chambers in the Courthouse Annex.

Quentin Jackson, Town Commissioner (Term expires 12/2021)
310 S. Church St.
Hertford, NC 27944

Earnell Brown, Mayor (Term expires 12/2023)
717 Edenton Road Street
Hertford, NC 27944

Pamela Hurdle (ex-officio)

Hertford Housing Authority

The Town Council appoints 5-members to the Housing Authority Board of Directors for 5- year terms. The Housing Authority Executive Director is Arnesa Holley and her office is at 104 White Street, Hertford, NC 27944 (Phone 252-426-5663).

Calvin Johnson, Chairman (Term expires 9/2022)
325 King Street
Hertford, NC 27944

Susan Winslow, Vice-Chair (Term expires 9/2023)
307 N. Church Street
Hertford, NC 27944
Louise Privott (Term expires 9/2021)
105 Pineridge MHP Lane
Hertford, NC 27944
Lula Eason (Term expires 9/2020)
Dobbs Street Hertford, NC 27944
Buck Bunch (Term expires 9/2024)
208 N. Front Street
Hertford, NC 27944

Historic Hertford Inc.

The Town Council appoints two members to this board. One member is the Mayor who serves continuously and the other is a Council appointee. 

Earnell Brown, Mayor of Hertford (Term is continuous)
Hertford, NC 27944
Frank Norman (Term expires 06/2020)
Hertford, NC 27944

Planning & Zoning Board of Adjustments

Seven Members (5 Regular & 2 Alternate)/3-year terms. The Planning & Zoning Board of Adjustments meets on the 3rd Monday of the month (depending on zoning business) in the Municipal Building at 114 W. Grubb Street at 7:00 PM.

H .B. “Skip” Matthews, Chairman (Term expires 12/2022)
322 N. Front Street
Hertford, NC 27944

Kisha Darden, Vice-Chair (Term expires 12/2021)
313 Dobbs Street
Hertford, NC 27944

Gracie Felton (Term expires 12/2022)
211 Dobbs Street
Hertford, NC 27944

Marvin Sutton (Term expires 1/2022)
319 King Street
Hertford, NC 27944

Martina McClenney (Term expires 01/2022)
212 Crescent Drive
Hertford, NC 27944        
Greg Benton (Term expires 12/2022)
205 Highland Park
Hertford, NC 27944
Joe T. White, Extraterritorial Jurisdiction Member- (Term expires 12/2022) *
962 S. Edenton Road Street
Hertford, NC 27944

Utility Advisory Board

Shoniqua Powell, Town Clerk (Continuous)
Judy Bateman, Utility Supervisor (Continuous)
Ashley Hodges, Council Liaison 
Tim Brinn
Trina Sage
Tony Riddick
Shikara Elliott

Albemarle RPO (Rural Planning Organization)

The RPO is made up of the TAC (Technical Advisory Committee) and the TCC (Technical Coordination Committee). The TAC includes elected officials from the 10 counties of the Albemarle region including the cities and towns. The TCC is made up of staff from these same counties, cities, and towns. The RPO’s purpose is to prioritize regional transportation projects. These appointments are made by Town Council.

Frank Norman                                                                   
122 Wynne Fork Court
Hertford, NC 27944

Pamela Hurdle,TCC  Appointee 
P. O. Box 32
Hertford, NC 27944

CFPT (Child Fatality Prevention Team)

*(16-Memebers, Appointment is made by County Commissioners)

Police Chief Dennis Brown


Communication Advisory Board

(2-Year Term,5-Member, Appointment is made by Town Council)

Councilman Quentin Jackson
Pamela Hurdle (ex-officio)

Harbor Town Project

Mayor Earnell Brown
Councilman Frank Norman
Town Manager Pamela Hurdle

Hazard Mitigation Plan Committee

Councilman Quentin Jackson
Town Manager Pamela Hurdle

Housing Committee

(8-Members, Unlimited term). Currently disbanded- CDBG funding discontinue.


Industrial Facilities & Pollution Control Financing

(7-Members, 6-years term)

Mayor Earnell Brown  

Inter-Agency Council

(Appointment is made by Town Council, 1-year term)

Police Chief Dennis Brown
Town Manager Pamela Hurdle

Recreation Advisory Board

(Appointment term 3-years and 10-member Board)

Martina V. McClenney

Tourism Development Authority (TDA)

(Appointment by Town Council, 6-Memebers, 2-year term)

Jerry Mimlitsch



Town of Hertford Boards, Commissions and Committees appointments. (Note- (*) appointments made by Perquimans County Commissioners. All others are made by Town of Hertford Council).